The Stag Hot Press Irish Music Awards of 1984

The Stag Hot Press Irish Music Awards of 1984

A Time Capsule from 1984

I thought that it would be interesting to go back in time to 1984 and watch the artists featured on the Stag Hot Press awards. Watch a clip of “The Bride Word White” by The Blades.

Previous notable winners include U2, Thin Lizzy, Clannad, Auto Da Fé, The Undertones, Paul Brady, The Blades, and Rory Gallagher.

Vincent Hanley hosted the fourth annual Hot Press Awards at the National Stadium in Dublin and broadcast as part of RTÉ’s Festival Week series/ This year’s winners included Moving Hearts, Christy Moore and Chris de Burgh, all receiving awards for the first time.

Previous year’s winners U2, Clannad and Van Morrison were also honoured at the ceremony. Two groups shared the Best New Act award – Les Enfants and In Tua Nua. Jim Aiken received a special award for services to the music industry.